to Chahar Shanbeh Suri

dockweiler state beach, ca

15-March-2011

I was invited by my dearest Afarin (xxo) to go down to Dockweiler last night and celebrate Chahar Shanbeh Suri with her, her friends and hundreds of complete strangers. But what is Chahar Shanbeh Suri? Afarin, please allow me to steal from your evite:

“An ancient Zoroastrian tradition that is now celebrated as a prelude to Nowruz, a holiday which marks the arrival of spring. Traditionally celebrated on the last Tuesday night of the year, bonfires are lit to “keep the sun alive” until early morning. People jump over these bonfires singing zardi-ye man az to, sorkhi-ye to az man. The literal translation is, my sickly yellow paleness is yours, your fiery red color is mine meaning you want the fire to take your paleness, sickness, and problems and in turn give you redness, warmth, and energy for the new year. Really, what matters is that we get to jump over fire and eat Persian food. How could you say no?”

And everyone was jumping (I did twice). Grandmothers, children, college students, families holding hands, etc. I am so glad I went. I didnt actually sing though (hang my head). I was too busy focusing on not tripping and falling in the fire….

 

just the very start of the crowds and dj #1. Kristin and Afarin about to jump

Kristin and Afarin mid-jump. (Kristin left her foot behind)

lifeguard driving by

random guy twirling fire.  bananas.

Dance Party Dockweiler

Happy New Year!

xx

 

This entry was posted in to peep. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

